August Garden update

I have been negligent in my updates. Here is a quick recap of the past month or so from the garden. Keeping in mind that Henry’s involvement and excitement outweighs any produce our garden may yield.

The carrots failed miserably. I have no idea why, but only three carrots took. The squash failed too. It was doomed from weather and location, so I need to be smarter next year about plant placement.

On the bright side, our Yukon gold potatoes have been an enormous success. I harvested one entire bed and have about five or six plants left.

My tomatoes are doing okay. We’ll have enough to eat several good meals with fresh tomatoes, but probably not enough to can. I am seeing signs of the blight, so I’ve got to find a remedy. I heard spraying copper helps.

Our Green beans and cucumbers are also producing well. We’ve enjoyed fresh beans from the garden right to the dinner plate all summer long.

My best producer are the peppers. My Red Rocket, Red Flame and Carmen peppers have more than 100 peppers on them and the Sweet sunrise have about 30. Plus the Leonardis yellows are just now bearing fruit.

The surprise is the corn. My experiment looks like a success and we might just have corn to eat at the end of the month.

I started my fall seeds; carrots, peas, turnips and beats. I will also try my hand at some spinach and lettuce again as well.

A random side note, my wife makes a simple birthday request…turkey, stuffing, gravy, mashed potatoes, green beans and cranberry sauce. Never mind that it is the middle of July, we’re tasked with creating Thanksgiving in July.

This years feast was highlighted by homegrown potatoes and green beans, but the bird is what we all came to eat. And eat we did. I have deep fried a turkey at least a half dozen times and I am not sure I ever want to eat a baked bird again.

The second best part of deep frying is making the turkey stock from the leftovers. I have two gallons of flavorful stock frozen for fall soups.

So happy (belated) birthday to my wife, I got to hand it her, she knows how to party. Because of her, the annual frying of turkey in July is quickly becoming one of my favorite times of the year.

Leave a Reply

