Book Reviews: Born to Run

Like many new enthusiasts to a hobby or interest, my desire to learn more about running has taken many forms.  I’ve been reading websites and blogs, buying new gear and supplies, and most recently hording library books on the subject matter at hand.  Since having my own personal coach and trainer is out of the question,  I’ve looked for external sources of information to bolster my enjoyment and proficiency in my new found passion.

This summer I’ve read two excellent books related to running.  First was Christopher McDougall’s Born to Run.  Chris’ book was an interesting combination of the science of running and one man’s quest to bring a group of ultra marathoners to race the fabled Tarahumara Indians of Mexico’s Copper Canyons.

The book was extremely insightful and to be honest, while I was reading it, it inspired me to run more;  which is the greatest compliment I can give the author.

Whether or not all of the science and studies he presented are accurate is irrelevant.  Born to Run made me want to get up off the couch and run, while keeping me intrigued in the outcome of Caballo Blanco’s quest to match the “super human” Tarahumara Indians against ultra legends like  Scott Jurek.

Born to Run is a page turner for any runner and will motivate you to reexamine your passion for running.

One response to “Book Reviews: Born to Run

  1. Great summation of the book. I just finished it recently, and it also gave me a little more motivation to run. I have also been paying a bit more attention to my form and how I land with my feet.

Leave a Reply

