New endevaors

By now, most of our new years resolutions have come and gone.  Hopefully one or two have stuck.  I’m not a huge fan of setting unrealistic expectations upon myself and then beating myself up when I fall short of those expectations.

However, I can saw that for the past year or so, I have felt out of shape.  Not the, oh I need to drop 10-pounds feeling, but the I’m sluggish, I used to hike 30-miles a weekend and now I get winded doing laps at Stop&Shop feeling that rushes over me as I scan the DVR for something to watch while polishing off a bowl of Lucky Charms.   I did not promise myself I would do anything in-particular about these feeling, but I miss being active and I’ve been trying to figure how how to squeeze some activity into my already over-booked life.

The epiphany came on February 9, 2012, a little late to be a new years resolution, but just in time.  I had a meeting for work in the city and I decided to walk to a few different places and all told, I think I might have walked a total of 4-miles between my trips to/from the train station, the High Line and to the meeting place.  I’m embarrassed to admit it, but I was beat. My feet hurt, I was winded, but worst of all…my ego was bruised.

The next day, I told my sister-in-law (who will remain anonymous for her own protection) how out of shape I was and that I needed to find the time to get fit.  She suggested that I train for a 5k race in May.  In the past, I have found every excuse to not run, ranging from my bad knees, bum ankle to I can’t find shoes that fit my clunky feet.  All jokes aside…this is exactly what I needed.  I needed an event to train for, something to focus on. Something that I can devote an hour a day towards.

After a few walks and early (5:00 am) morning runs, I have started enjoying myself.  I even went down to the good folks at Westchester Road Runner in White Plains and got fitted for a pair of real running shoes.

It’s been two weeks and so far, so good.  Rather than bore the world with daily posts on my mileage and running times, I’ll keep that data on a new page on the blog titled Running.  However I will try and highlight some of my successes as they occur.

Leave a Reply

