Lip smacking BBQ Chicken Sandwich…that will have me cleaning the kitchen for hours

After a long and unusually mind  numbing day, cooking a messy multi-pot meal was not what I had in mind.  Especially when I knew I had to run out to the store to buy apples and Goldfish for snack time at nursery school tomorrow.   Somehow I got hoodwinked into making BBQ chicken sandwiches topped with sautéed mushrooms and onions and served with roasted asparagus.

First, I tossed a Pillsbury French loaf in the oven.  Next I made my own BBQ sauce, don’t ask me the quantities or proportions…I just wing it each time I make the sauce.  Plus that’s the fun part, the experimentation.  I combine all of the ingredients into a small sauce pot and heat them for 15 minutes until well combined. Here are the components I used:

  • Ketchup
  • Grey Poupon Mustard
  • Apple cider vinegar
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Soy sauce
  • Garlic powder
  • Brown sugar
  • Pepper
  • Emeril’s Essence

Next I threw the asparagus onto a baking sheet, tossed them in some olive oil and sprinkled with Emeril’s Essence and baked them at 450 for 10 –12 minutes, rotating them one.

Then I sautéed half a white onion I sliced into thin strips and two handfuls of quartered shitake mushrooms until browned.

Last, I heated some olive oil in a large frying pan and  tossed in four thinly sliced chicken breasts.  I quickly drizzled a healthy portion of the BBQ sauce on to one side of each breast and then flipped each breast and repeated. Try to remember to use your splatter screen, otherwise you will make a mess of your stovetop.

Assemble your sandwich as you see fit (I like putting the asparagus right on the sandwich, no need for a fork) and be sure to drizzle some of the left over BBQ sauce on as well.  You can add some grated cheddar cheese to your sandwich.

Leave a Reply

