The descion

After reviewing the situation, it is with a heavy heart that I have conceded that purchasing the O’Day Mariner at the current time would not be a prudent use of my family’s money or the few spare hours I have unscheduled this summer.

As much as buying a sailboat for $25 sound like a great deal, at the end of the day, it’s a huge investment of time and a money pit which we cannot afford at this point in time.  Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s a better deal than any Groupon I’ll ever receive, but to invest in a boat right now, especially this one, would be financial and probably marital suicide.

What I hope to do is scrape together enough spare change to join the Ossining Community Sailing Club and really see if sailing is something that the family would like.

Maybe bum a few rides on a sloop or schooner, become a stow- a-way on a nice Beneteau 46 or this might be the summer we get the kayaks back in the Hudson.

Either way… farewell 1965 O’Day Mariner…I bid thee smooth sailings.

Leave a Reply

